Three Sites in India Are Declared As World Heritage Site by UNESCO


UNESCO listed Chandigarh’s Capitol Complex and Sikkim’s national park home to the world’s third highest peak Mount Khangchendzonga among its World Heritage Sites, approving all three nominations linked to India this session.

This is the first time that any country got three sites inscribed in the Word Heritage List at a single session of the committee meeting, a Culture Ministry official said.

  1. Nalanda University
  2. Khangchendzonga national park
  3. Capitol Complex

About Nalanda University


The Nalanda Open University is the only University in the State of Bihar meant for imparting learning exclusively through the system of distance education. The University was established in March, 1987 by an ordinance, promulgated by the Government of Bihar. Later, Nalanda Open University Act, 1995 was passed by the Bihar Legislature, replacing the Ordinance, and the University came under the authority and jurisdiction of the new Act automatically. The University is named after the famous Nalanda University of Ancient India.

About Khangchendzonga national park

Khangchendzonga National park

The Khangchendzonga (High Altitude) National Park extends from the cold deserts of Lhonak Valley and the ridges of Lachen in the North District to the historical place at Yuksom.The Western boundary of the Park runs along the international boundary with Nepal and China. The Park covers an area of 1784 sq.kms. And occupies as much as 25.14% of the total geographical area of Sikkim.

About Capitol Complex


The Capitol Complex was part of transnational serial site of “The Architectural Work of Le Corbusier, an outstanding contribution to the modern movement” along with six other countries. The Capitol Complex is considered as one of the most renowned works of Corbusier. It comprises three buildings: Secretariat, Assembly and High Court. The fourth building planned by Corbusier, the Governor’s Palace, is yet to be completed even more than 50 years after his death. Apart from the buildings, there are several monuments that are part of the complex. However, not all the monuments are complete.

Besides these, Antigua Naval Dockyard and Related Archaeological Sites (Antigua and Barbuda) and Pampulha Modern Ensemble (Brazil) were also included in the elite list.

A World Heritage Site is a place (such as a building, city, complex, desert, forest, island, lake, monument, or mountain) that is listed by the UNESCO as being of ‘special cultural or physical significance’.